Our People

Senior Leadership Team

Denise Johnson

Principal/Tumuaki

denise.johnson@hvhs.school.nz

Tim Fox

Deputy Principal
(Operations, Systems & Deputising for Principal)

tim.fox@hvhs.school.nz

Rob Everett

Deputy Principal
(Student Academic Care & Achievement)

rob.everett@hvhs.school.nz

Fiona Pearson

Deputy Principal
(Staff Wellbeing & Development)

fiona.pearson@hvhs.school.nz

Nick Larkin

Deputy Principal
(Curriculum)

nick.larkin@hvhs.school.nz

Grace Wright

Deputy Principal
(Student Care & Wellbeing)

grace.wright@hvhs.school.nz

General Enquiries

The Main Office is open Monday to Friday from 8am to 4pm during term time.

Email: office@hvhs.school.nz

Phone: (04) 566 4584

Absences

For absences, please include your student’s name, mentor class & reason for the absence.

Email: absences.notification@hvhs.school.nz

Phone: (04) 560 1568

App: via the HVHS SchoolBridge app (select the ‘Absences’ icon and follow the instructions)

Our Staff

Please email staff in this format: firstname.lastname@hvhs.school.nz

Head of Learning Areas

EnglishMark Houghton (HT)mark.houghton@hvhs.school.nz
LanguagesJairo Trujillo-Ramirez (TJ)jairo.trujillo-ramirez@hvhs.school.nz
Learning PathwaysRob King (KI)rob.king@hvhs.school.nz
MathematicsJon Nash (NA)jon.nash@hvhs.school.nz
Physical Education and HealthMark Oates (OA)mark.oates@hvhs.school.nz
ScienceShane Harrison (HR)shane.harrison@hvhs.school.nz
Social SciencesHayley Knights (KS)hayley.knights@hvhs.school.nz
TechnologyKatie Long (LO)katie.long@hvhs.school.nz
The ArtsAdrian Cartwright (CW)
Anna Flaherty (FY)
adrian.cartwright@hvhs.school.nz anna.flaherty@hvhs.school.nz

Deans 

Year 9 Dean Emma Pritchard (PR)emma.pritchard@hvhs.school.nz
Year 9 Dean Angus Devine (DV)angus.devine@hvhs.school.nz
Year 10 Dean Sarah Langley (LA)sarah.langley@hvhs.school.nz
Year 10 Dean Frank Versteegen (VE)frank.versteegen@hvhs.school.nz
Year 11 DeanNicole Arnell (AR)nicole.arnell@hvhs.school.nz
Year 11 DeanJeremy Keane (KE)jeremy.keane@hvhs.school.nz
Year 12 DeanStephen Gibson (GI)stephen.gibson@hvhs.school.nz
Year 12 DeanSara Pollard (PO)sara.pollard@hvhs.school.nz
Year 13 DeanKirsten Taylor (TA)kirsten.taylor@hvhs.school.nz
Year 13 DeanRichard Edwards (ED)richard.edwards@hvhs.school.nz

Wellbeing Team

Head of WellbeingClaire Ross (CR)clare.ross@hvhs.school.nz
School CounsellorJoanna Logan (JL)joanna.logan@hvhs.school.nz
School CounsellorLloyd Ward (WA)lloyd.ward@hvhs.school.nz
School CounsellorKaren Molloy (ML)karen.molloy@hvhs.school.nz
Kaihāpai Māori
(Pastoral Care of Māori Students)
Matua Paul Morrispaul.morris@hvhs.school.nz
Youth WorkerMichael Broadley michael.broadley@hvhs.school.nz
Youth WorkerAlistair Morrisalistair.morris@hvhs.school.nz
Youth WorkerPip Morris pip.morris@hvhs.school.nz
Youth WorkerElla Tennantella.tennent@hvhs.school.nz
Youth WorkerSophie Tennant sophie.tennant@hvhs.school.nz

Head of Specialist Areas

Head of Careers & Transition PathwaysJude Allen (JA)jude.allen@hvhs.school.nz
Acting Sports Director Kristi Tia kristi.tia@hvhs.school.nz
Head of Learning Support / Special Educational Needs Coordinator (SENCO)Nicola Fletcher (FL)nicola.fletcher@hvhs.school.nz
Head of Tautoko (Supported Learning Centre)Heather Lear (LR)heather.lear@hvhs.school.nz
International Student DirectorJodie Murden jodie.murden@hvhs.school.nz

‍Teachers

Sheena Anglesey (AN)Sciencesheena.anglesey@hvhs.school.nz
Aston Banks (BB)Mathematicsaston.banks@hvhs.school.nz
Nicole Arnell (AR)English / Year 11 Deannicole.arnell@hvhs.school.nz
Bernard Beckett (BE)Dance & Dramabernard.beckett@hvhs.school.nz
Tyler Benson (BN)Assistant Head of Learning Area – Mathematicstyler.benson@hvhs.school.nz
Roshaan Bhana (BH)Digital Visual Communications & Digital Technologyroshaan.bhana@hvhs.school.nz
Marcus Blomquist (BQ)Mathematicsmarcus.blomquist@hvhs.school.nz
Sarah Bouagila (BG)Mathematicssarah.bouagila@hvhs.school.nz
Ben Britton (BR)Digital Technologyben.britton@hvhs.school.nz
Evelyn Burgos (BU)Mathematicsevelyn.burgos@hvhs.school.nz
Esther Cardwell (CA)English (Currently on Leave)esther.cardwell@hvhs.school.nz
Adrian Cartwright (CW)Head of Learning Area – The Artsadrian.cartwright@hvhs.school.nz
Jamie Casley (CA)Literacy Coordinatorjamie.casley@hvhs.school.nz
Alan Cathro (CT)Artalan.cathro@hvhs.school.nz
Alana Charlton (CH)Mathematics / Numeracy Coordinatoralana.charlton@hvhs.school.nz
Lucy Chave (CV)Commerce / Teacher in Charge – Accounting / Systems Managerlucy.chave@hvhs.school.nz
Paul Christeller (CI)Mathematicspaul.christeller@hvhs.school.nz
Daniel Ciapa (CP)Technology / Technical Coordinatordaniel.ciapa@hvhs.school.nz
Krystal Clarke (CL)Te Ao Māori krystal.clarke@hvhs.school.nz
Sarah Coales (CO)Food / Sporting Excellence Programme / Duke of Edinburgh Coordinator sarah.coales@hvhs.school.nz
Cameron Conradie (CN)Assistant Head of Learning Area – Mathematicscameron.conradie@hvhs.school.nz
James Davies (DS)Sciencejames.davies@hvhs.school.nz
Madeleine Dean (DA)Languagesmadeleine.dean@hvhs.school.nz
Nicolas Delaire (DL)Languagesnicolas.delaire@hvhs.school.nz
Angus Devine (DV)Physical Education & Health / Year 9 Dean angus.devine@hvhs.school.nz
Gemma Doran (DO)Englishgemma.doran@hvhs.school.nz
Richard Edwards (ED)Science / Teacher in Charge – Horticulture / Year 13 Deanrichard.edwards@hvhs.school.nz
Rebecca Feerick (FE)English / Gifted & Talented Coordinatorrebecca.feerick@hvhs.school.nz
Anna Flaherty (FY)Head of Learning Area – The Artsanna.flaherty@hvhs.school.nz
Emma Gardenier (GA)Dance & English / Teacher in Charge – Te Awakairangiemma.gardenier@hvhs.school.nz
Jamie Gibson (GB)Englishjamie.gibson@hvhs.school.nz
Stephen Gibson (GI)Teacher in Charge – Geography / Year 12 Deanstephen.gibson@hvhs.school.nz
Bryan Gillies (GL)Technology / Teacher in Charge – Computer Sciencebryan.gillies@hvhs.school.nz
Charlotte Glucina (GN)Englishcharlotte.glucina@hvhs.school.nz
Madi Gold (GO)Physical Education & Healthmadi.gold@hvhs.school.nz
Dylan Goldsmith (GS)Sciencedylan.goldsmith@hvhs.school.nz
Joel Green (GE)Social Sciencesjoel.green@hvhs.school.nz
Yanling Guo (GU)English Languageyanling.guo@hvhs.school.nz
Kirsty Hall (HA)Mathematicskirsty.hall@hvhs.school.nz
Brooke Hall-Jones (HJ)English (Currently on Leave)brooke.hall-jones@hvhs.school.nz
Genevieve Hanify (HF)Assistant Head of Learning Area – English / Special Educational Needs Coordinator (SENCO)genevieve.hanify@hvhs.school.nz
Bailey Harding (HD)Mathematicsbailey.harding@hvhs.school.nz
Shane Harrison (HR)Assistant Head of Learning Area – Scienceshane.harrison@hvhs.school.nz
Anton Heyns (HY)Mathematicsanton.heyns@hvhs.school.nz
Mark Houghton (HT)Head of Learning Area – Englishmark.houghton@hvhs.school.nz
George Ichim (IC)Science george.ichim@hvhs.school.nz
Annette Inglis (IN)Science annette.inglis@hvhs.school.nz
Matua Rawiri Kapea (KA)Social Sciences & Te Ao Māorirawiri.kapea@hvhs.school.nz
Taane Koorey-Te Huki (KT)Physical Education & Healthtaane.koorey-tehuki@hvhs.school.nz
Jeremy Keane (KE)Physical Education & Health / Year 11 Deanjeremy.keane@hvhs.school.nz
Jhan Lindsay (LIN)Performing Arts Coordinator / Teacher in Charge – Itinerant Music Programmejhan.lindsay@hvhs.school.nz
Matua Martin King (KG)Te Ao Māori & Te Reo Māorimartin.king@hvhs.school.nz
Ioanna Koroniasdis-Armishaw (KO)Dance & Drama / Teacher in Charge – Media Studiesioanna.koroniadis-armishaw@hvhs.school.nz
Nicholas Kovacev (KV)Musicnicholas.kovacev@hvhs.school.nz
Hayley Knights (KS)Head of Learning Area – Social Scienceshayley.knights@hvhs.school.nz
Jan Lammers (LM)Physical Education & Health / Rugby Administratorjan.lammers@hvhs.school.nz
Sarah Langley (LA)Teacher in Charge – Japanese / Year 10 Deansarah.langley@hvhs.school.nz
Robyn Lantsbery (LY)Social Sciences / Teacher in Charge – Classical Studiesrobyn.lantsbery@hvhs.school.nz
Kylie Lincoln (LI)Englishkylie.lincoln@hvhs.school.nz
Katie Long (LO)Head of Learning Area – Technologykatie.long@hvhs.school.nz
Katriona MacDonald (MO)Musickatriona.macdonald@hvhs.school.nz
Kate MacManus (MA)Englishkate.macmanus@hvhs.school.nz
Shaun McRoberts (MC)English & Japanese shaun.mcroberts@hvhs.school.nz
Olivia McVey (MV)Artolivia.mcvey@hvhs.school.nz
Shelley Meehan (ME)Science (Currently on Leave)shelley.meehan@hvhs.school.nz
Kylie Miller (MR)Teacher in Charge – Biology / Assistant Head of Learning Area – Sciencekylie.miller@hvhs.school.nz
Emily Morris (MS)Scienceemily.morris@hvhs.school.nz
Matua Paul Morris (MI)Dance, Drama & Te Ao Māori / Kaihāpai Māori (Pastoral Care of Māori Students)paul.morris@hvhs.school.nz
Jon Nash (NA)Head of Learning Area – Mathematicsjon.nash@hvhs.school.nz
Geoff Newby (NB)Technologygeoff.newby@hvhs.school.nz
Josh Nicholls (NI)Acting Assistant Head of Learning Area – Physical Education & Health josh.nicholls@hvhs.school.nz
John Norris (NS)Assistant Head of Learning Area – Technologyjohn.norris@hvhs.school.nz
Amberleigh O’Hagan (OH)Classics, Drama & Social Sciencesamberleigh.ohagan@hvhs.school.nz
Mark Oates (OA)Head of Learning Area – Physical Education & Healthmark.oates@hvhs.school.nz
Cara Penfold (PF)Assistant Head of Learning Area – Technologycara.penfold@hvhs.school.nz
Corban Pointon (PT)Englishcorban.pointon@hvhs.school.nz
Philippa Plewinski (PL)Assistant Head of Learning Area – Mathematicsphilippa.plewinski@hvhs.school.nz
Sara Pollard (PO)English / Year 12 Deansara.pollard@hvhs.school.nz
Elena Prado (PD)Spanishelena.prado@hvhs.school.nz
Rachel Price (PC)Social Sciencesrachel.price@hvhs.school.nz
Emma Pritchard (PR)Art / Year 9 Dean emma.pritchard@hvhs.school.nz
Jared Putt (PU)Physical Education & Healthjared.putt@hvhs.school.nz
Cian Quirke (QK)Technologycian.quirke@hvhs.school.nz
Flynn Richards (RD)Mathematics flynn.richards@hvhs.school.nz
Chris Riley (RI)Science / Teacher in Charge – Physicschris.riley@hvhs.school.nz
Sarah Robbins (RB)Mathematics & Sciencesarah.robbins@hvhs.school.nz
Sarah Roper (RO)Head of English Languagesarah.roper@hvhs.school.nz
Tom Salway (SA)Assistant Head of Learning Area – Sciencetom.salway@hvhs.school.nz
Jonathan Sarich (SR)Social Sciencesjonathan.sarich@hvhs.school.nz
Maria SebastianSciencemaria.sebastian@hvhs.school.nz
Clare Sevicke-Jones (SJ)Tautoko (Supported Learning Centre)clare.sevicke-jones@hvhs.school.nz
Jill Skinner (SK)Mathematicsjill.skinner@hvhs.school.nz
Eric Speakman (SM)Business Studies, Economics & Social Studieseric.speakman@hvhs.school.nz
Corey Spence (SP)Drama & English / Teacher in Charge – Enrichment in Englishcorey.spence@hvhs.school.nz
Rei Stokes (ST)Sciencerei.stokes@hvhs.school.nz
Kirsten Taylor (TA)Science / Year 13 Deankirsten.taylor@hvhs.school.nz
Sarah Thomas (TS)Teacher in Charge – Design & Visual Communicationsarah.thomas@hvhs.school.nz
Kat Thomsen (TH)Assistant Head of Learning Area – Physical Health & Health / Head of Health (Currently on Leave)kathryn.thomsen@hvhs.school.nz
Jason Tierney (TI)Social Scienceskathryn.thomsen@hvhs.school.nz
Iokopeta Tobeck (TO)Physical Education & Healthiokopeta.tobeck@hvhs.school.nz
Megan Tompsett (TT)English & Social Sciencesmegan.tompsett@hvhs.school.nz
Jairo Trujillo-Ramirez (TJ)Head of Learning Area – Languagesjairo.trujillo-ramirez@hvhs.school.nz
Noel Tucker (TU)Assistant Head of Learning Area -Physical Education & Health / Social Studiesnoel.tucker@hvhs.school.nz
Lucy Twigg (TW)Assistant Head of Learning Area – Physical Education & Health / Foodlucy.twigg@hvhs.school.nz
Frank Versteegen (VE)Science / Year 10 Deanfrank.versteegen@hvhs.school.nz
Aru Vythilingam (VY)Social Sciences / Teacher in Charge – Economicsaru.vythilingam@hvhs.school.nz
Nicole Webber (WE)Artnicole.webber@hvhs.school.nz
Tim Webster (WB)Social Sciences / Teacher in Charge – Tourismtim.webster@hvhs.school.nz
Liv Woodmas (WM)Media & Social Studiesliv.woodmas@hvhs.school.nz
Derek Woods (WD)Assistant Head of Learning Area – English (Currently on Leave)derek.wood@hvhs.school.nz
Hugh Williams (WL)Geography & Social Scienceshugh.williams@hvhs.school.nz

‍Support Staff

Deena AndersonMarketing & Communications Managerdeena.anderson@hvhs.school.nz
Sheryl BeaumontLearning Support Assistant (Tautoko, Supported Learning Centre)sheryl.beaumont@hvhs.school.nz
Jackie BirchamLearning Support Assistantjackie.bircham@hvhs.school.nz
Jo CantonFirst Aid Officerjoanne.canton@hvhs.school.nz
Christine CarlineLearning Support Assistant (English Language)christine.carline@hvhs.school.nz
Claire ChamberlainFood Technicianclaire.chamberlain@hvhs.school.nz
Thomasina ChappelAttendance Officerthomasina.chappel@hvhs.school.nz
Rebecca ClarkeLearning Support Assistant (Tautoko, Supported Learning Centre)rebecca.clarke@hvhs.school.nz
Kelly ClaytonLearning Support Assistant (Tautoko, Supported Learning Centre)kelly.clayton@hvhs.school.nz
Eli DavidsonLearning Support Assistant (Tautoko, Supported Learning Centre)eli.davidson@hvhs.school.nz
Louise DayStudent Receptionlouise.day@hvhs.school.nz
Barbara DuffLearning Support Assistantbarbera.duff@hvhs.school.nz
Stephanie FifieldLearning Support Assistant (Tautoko, Supported Learning Centre)stephanie.fifield@hvhs.school.nz
Jodene FitnessPathways Assistantjodene.fitness@hvhs.school.nz
Judith GardinerArchivesjudith.gardiner@hvhs.school.nz
Finn GaupsetSports Coordinatorfinn.gaupset@hvhs.school.nz
Lana GoddardPrincipals’ PA / Board Secretarylana.goddard@hvhs.school.nz
Shauna GrattonLibrary Assistantshauna.gratton@hvhs.school.nz
Sharyn HeathcoteLearning Pathways Support Coordinatorsharyn.heathcote@hvhs.school.nz
Joanna HolmInternational Administratorjoanna.holm@hvhs.school.nz
Shayne JohnsonCaretakershayne.johnson@hvhs.school.nz
Donna KeenanBusiness Assistantdonna.keenan@hvhs.school.nz
Raewyn KerrReceptionistraewyn.kerr@hvhs.school.nz
Anna KingsfordInternational Homestay Coordinatoranna.kingsford@hvhs.school.nz
Simon KyddProperty Managersimon.kydd@hvhs.school.nz
Veisinia LotakiLearning Support Assistantveisinia.lotaki@hvhs.school.nz
Jing LyuLearning Support Assistant (Tautoko, Supported Learning Centre)jing.lyu@hvhs.school.nz
Lesley MackayEnrolments Coordinatorlesley.mackay@hvhs.school.nz
Jo-Anne McAseyLearning Support Assistant jo-anne.mcasey@hvhs.school.nz
Suzie McClellandLearning Support Assistant suzie.mcclelland@hvhs.school.nz
Diana McDonaldResource Centre Assistantdiana.mcdonald@hvhs.school.nz
Tara McKnightLibrary Assistanttara.mcknight@hvhs.school.nz
Hayley McLeanBusiness Managerhayley.mclean@hvhs.school.nz
Daniel MillsSports Coordinatordaniel.mills@hvhs.school.nz
Victoria MitchellLearning Support Assistant (English Language)victoria.mitchell@hvhs.school.nz
Chloe NorlingLearning Support Assistantchloe.norling@hvhs.school.nz
Lisa O’HalloranLearning Support Assistantlisa.o’halloran@hvhs.school.nz
Peti OlsenLearning Support Assistantpeti.olsen@hvhs.school.nz
Aki PaeaCleaner
Helen PatonScience Technicianhelena.paton@hvhs.school.nz
Lesley RobsonLearning Support Assistantlesley.robson@hvhs.school.nz
Ju Nay SayLearning Support Assistant (English Language)junaysay@hvhs.school.nz
Raniah ShamonkaLearning Support Assistant (English Language)raniah.shamonka@hvhs.school.nz
Anna TabuzoLearning Support Assistant (Tautoko, Supported Learning Centre)anna.tabuzo@hvhs.school.nz
Ross Tait Technology Supportross.tait@hvhs.school.nz
Amanda WaltersCareers Advisor / Gateway Coordinatoramanda.walters@hvhs.school.nz