Learning Areas & Subjects

The New Zealand Curriculum is divided into essential learning areas: areas of knowledge and understanding that all students are expected to acquire. We value learning through the lens of each learning areas and give equitable time to them in junior school (Years 9 & 10). Students can begin to specialise more from Year 11.

Hutt Valley High School offers the National Certificate of Educational Achievement (NCEA), in unit standards and achievement standards, through to level 3 in Years 11-13.

See the Learning Areas pages below for more information.

Learning Pathways
Health & Physical Education
Social Sciences
Te Ao Māori
The Arts
Gifted & Talented
Scholarship Examinations