Te Ao Māori

Tō Mātou Wāhi, Our Place

At Te Kura Tuarua o Te Awakairangi (Hutt Valley High School), we acknowledge the local iwi Te Atiawa upon whose land the kura sits. Our awa – Te Awakairangi is our boundary and links us to Te Whangaui-a-tara. We are offered protection by the mauga and landmarks surrounding us – Pukeatua, Pukeariki, Tararua, Remutaka, Ōrongorongo and Matairangi.

Hutt Valley High School

Hotuwaipara, Our Marae 

The Hutt Valley High School marae was given the name Hotuwaipara by the late Jock McEwan and the late Sir Ralph Makere Love of Te Atiawa.

The archway seen on the front of the school marae was carved in 2004-2005 by Terry Deverall and Year 10 students studying Māori. It features Hotuwaipara at the top, Whatonga on the left and Tara on the right. The two figures seen on the carving represent Graeme Marshall, a former Principal at Hutt Valley High School who established the marae, and Hine Amoamo, a long-standing Māori language teacher on the right.

Hutt Valley High School marae

Hotuwaipara is used for various purposes, including as a learning space, for hui (meeting), āhuareka (celebration) and as a safe space for tauira.

Ō Mātou Mātāpono, Our Values

Our school values are:

  • He kura Rāhiri (we are welcoming) 
  • He kura Ngākaunui (we are kind)
  • He kura Manawaroa (we persevere)
  • He kura Eke Taumata (we achieve our goals)

Ko Tātou, Our People


Pūwaha is our staff rōpū to support our Māori ākonga, and all things Māori within our kura.  Pūwaha’s focus is for Māori students to be engaged and experiencing learning environments that are inclusive and reflect them as Māori.  Pūwaha meet weekly in Hotuwaipara, our school marae.

Jude Allan
Jude Allan
Ngāti Maniapoto, Ngāti Tuwharetoa
Head of Careers and Transition Pathways / Teacher (Employment Ready & Gateway)
Matua Rawiri Kapea
Matua Rawiri Kapea
Ngati Apa, Te Atiawa, Te Ati Haunui-a-Pāpārangi
Teacher (Social Sciences, Te Ao Māori & Languages)
Matua Paul Morris
Te Ati Haunui-a-Pāpārangi
Kaihāpai Māori / Teacher (The Arts, Dance, Drama & Te Ao Māori)
Claire Ross
Claire Ross
Head of Wellbeing
Grace Wright
Grace Wright
Tumuaki Tuarua, Deputy Principal

2024 Māori Leaders – Māori Leadership Committee

Our Māori Student Leaders run many school events celebrating and uplifting Te Ao Māori. Events include Te Wiki o te Reo Māori (Māori Language Week), ki-o-rahi competitions, Matariki and presenting at Hutt Valley High School’s Te Whānau a Hotuwaipara Awards.

In 2023, our Māori Student Leaders also took part in Otago University’s focus group researching school uniforms and wrote a submission in response to Waka Kotahi NZ Transport Authority consultation on He Tohu Huarahi Māori bilingual traffic signs.

The seven students in our 2024 Māori Leadership Committee are Mila Haami, Ava Kirk, Matiu Lowrie-Ronson, Eden Pākai, Wade Ronson, Māia Waldegrave and Macy Warbrick.

Mila Haami
Mila Haami
Ngā Rauru, Te Ati Haunui-a-Pāpārangi, Ngāti Porou
Ava Kirk
Ava Kirk
Ngāti Maniapoto
Matiu Lowrie-Ronson
Matiu Lowrie-Ronson
Te Atiawa (Taranaki) 
Eden Pākai
Eden Pākai
Ngāti Kahungunu ki Heretaunga
Wade Ronson
Wade Ronson
Te Arawa
Māia Waldegrave
Māia Waldegrave Whakatōhea
Macy Warbrick
Macy Warbrick
Te Arawa

Te Pae Kōrero, Our Community

Hutt Valley High School values relationships with whānau and our community. To maintain these relationships we hold a whānau hui each term where kaiako and whānau are able to discuss up and coming events, initiatives in the school for tauira and any changes we can make to help our tauira succeed while they are here.

The 2024 Whānau Hui are scheduled from 6:00-8:00pm on Thursday 22 February, Wednesday 10 April, Thursday 23 May, Tuesday 13 August and Wednesday 30 October.

Each year, our school also runs a NCEA me te Whānau workshop to help Māori students, parents and communities understand NCEA. You’ll learn about subject choices, career pathways and options for digital exams. We’ll email our Māori families once a date is confirmed for the 2024 workshop.

NCEA me te Whānau workshop

Te Ao Māori Learning Area

The Te Ao Māori Learning Area is one of nine Learning Areas at Hutt Valley High School. The following Te Ao Māori subjects are available to study in 2024:

  • Te Reo Māori in Years 9, 10, 11, 12 & 13
  • Te Ao Haka in Years 10, 11, 12 & 13
  • Te Āra in Year 11, 12 & 13
  • Māori Creative Arts (Toi) at NCEA Levels 2 & 3 for students in Years 12 & 13

Outside of the classroom learning opportunities include:

  • Māori Student Leadership Days
  • Ngā Manu Kōrero Speech Competition
  • Kapa Haka

Te Whānau a Hotuwaipara Awards

Each year in Term 4, Te Kura Tuarua o Te Awakairangi celebrates the success of our Māori ākonga across a range of areas including manaakitanga, hākinakina, toi, kapa haka, tikanga and mātauranga at the Te Whānau a Hotuwaipara Awards.

Special congratulations to the following students acknowledged at the event on 26 October 2023:

  • Mia Brown (13EV) – Aronga Matauranga Tau 13 Taitamahine (Top Year 13 Female Academic)
  • Zack Roberts (13LN) – Aronga Matauranga Tau 13 Tane (Top Year 13 Male Academic)
  • Coco Holland-Waterson (10SAWL) – Taitamahine Teina (Outstanding Female Junior Student)
  • Kaitoro Walker (10LMMO) – Tamatane Teina (Outstanding Male Junior Student)
  • Allie Knox (13EV) – Taitamahine Tuakana (Outstanding Female Senior Student)
  • Faenza Snowden (13EV) – Tane Tuakana (Outstanding Male Senior Student)

Māori Student Leadership Days

Māori Student Leadership Days focus on building our tauira into engaged and active members of the community. Breakouts throughout these days can focus on leadership, mentoring (tuakana-teina), resilience, perseverance and planning events for the kura. Tauira has the opportunity to engage with many kaiako and facilitators throughout these days. Hutt Valley High School aims to hold one of these per term.

For more information contact Deputy Principal, Grace Wright at grace.wright@hvhs.school.nz

Kapa Haka

Te Rōpū Kapa Haka o Te Awakairangi is the Hutt Valley High School Kapa Haka. The group is comprised of students from Year 9-13 and is open to all students from all cultures. For more information, please contact Krystal Clarke at krystal.clarke@hvhs.school.nz

Our Haka and Waiata

Our Waiata

E Tipu was composed in 2017 by students Tane Rolfe, Grace Tafili, Meli Pitolua and Gian Domdom. The words were selected by Ben Ngaia.

Our Haka

Moe Araara was composed by former HVHS student Ben Ngaia and choreographed by the students of Hutt Valley High School.

Download a printed copy of Moe Araara and E Tipu (PDF)

Watch one of the first public performances of the HVHS haka and waiata here